Fabamy's Blog

Crazy life of a CenPho comedian & socialite

It’s Social Media, NOT “Me!Me!Me!dia” March 27, 2013

Filed under: Social Media — fabamy @ 10:59 am

One of the things that’s most frustrating about being so heavily involved in Social Media, is that sometimes it feels like I’m the only one paying attention to others.

I have several friends who post updates all day long, mostly from their phones. These are people are who close friends, yet when I mention something I’ve been talking about for MONTHS, they’re surprised that they’re just hearing about it.

Now, I don’t really care about the GenPop of friends/followers on my Social Media accounts. But my friends? I pay attention, and expect them to, too. They are also the people who actually know how many friends/followers they have, and get upset when they lose someone. My guess? They got deleted for not paying attention to those who pay attention to them. It’s a give-give world out there.

I’m not sure if narcissistic is the word I’m looking for. Maybe self-absorbed? No idea. What I DO know is that those people I’ve always paid so much attention to have been removed from my lists/circles on Twitter and Facebook. It may seem petty, but I’d rather pay attention to those who do the same.

So, if you’re doing Me!Me!Me!dia and losing friends, and followers, it couldn’t hurt if you occasionally actually go to your “home” screen and like/comment on what others are saying.

 

 

5 Responses to “It’s Social Media, NOT “Me!Me!Me!dia””

  1. Dude. I just had the same experience and line of thought.
    It’s annoying. This is what drives me crazy about Facebook. It’s a culture shaped around the Ego.


Leave a comment