Fabamy's Blog

Crazy life of a CenPho comedian & socialite

A great way to get rid of headaches without meds! August 17, 2012

Filed under: The good life — fabamy @ 11:22 am
Tags: , , , ,

I have NO idea where I originally learned this, but I’ve been using this method for about 12 years. Living in Phoenix, I am uber-sensitive to weather changes. I’m guessing it’s because we don’t really have many strong fronts come through very often. But, it’s monsoon season, which means things change without notice and I find myself with headaches. I’m also in front of the computer all day and night, which isn’t good for posture, my neck OR my eyes. This is super easy to make!

Take a small bowl or dish. You could even use the lid to a Tupperware or something. I got these at the Asian market around the corner for  really cheap. They’re supposed to be for sushi. Or something.

Then, add about a tablespoon of olive oil, 8 drops of peppermint essential oil, 16 of lavender oil. You really don’t have to count them out, just make sure there is a little more lavender than peppermint.

Mix it around with your fingers, then start to spread it along your entire hairline. For this step, you just want it evenly all over. Then, go to town massaging it gently into your scalp. I pay extra attention to my temples, behind my ears, then down the back of my neck. I’ll do it while I’m working, or force myself to take a break and massage for about 5 minutes. I’ll do it longer if my headache is bad.

Then, put an ice pack on different parts of your head. Since most headaches come from shoulder/neck muscles, I will just lie down for a bit, on my back, with an ice pack on the back of my neck and one on my forehead.

Let me know if you try it out!

 

10 Responses to “A great way to get rid of headaches without meds!”

  1. Roxanne Says:

    Does it work for migraines? I get migraines ever-so-often, and the ONLY thing I’ve found to work is either a big ‘ol jolt of caffeine or 800mg of IB profen.. sometimes both. Ugh.

    • fabamy Says:

      It does work for migraines, but I would take more time for the massage part and go all the way down the back of your neck and get your shoulders well, too. Self-massaging these areas increases the blood flow. When blood flow is cut off or constricted, we get headaches.

  2. Thank you for the idea! Definitely trying this as I have constant headaches from the Arizona weather, eye strain, allergies I never had until I moved to Phoenix, etc, punctuated by migraines that happen more often lately!

  3. Make sure you use angustifolia lavender to avoid the camphor of the lavindins which are great for lavender soap and lotions, but won’t help with your headache.

  4. Great. Lavandula officinalis is the old name for Lavandula angustifolia, so we’re talking about English lavender.

  5. fabamy Says:

    Thanks so much for sharing the info!

  6. Scott Says:

    All it did was give me the shits…

  7. Ann Torrez Says:

    Ok boss !


Leave a comment