Fabamy's Blog

Crazy life of a CenPho comedian & socialite

Life is awesome…and then it punches you in the face. October 30, 2014

The past few years have been pretty difficult for me, financially. I was fired from one job for donating my kidney. I got laid off from another, but that was awesome because I started my own business. Still, the financial side I was always playing “catch-up” in, and I just couldn’t make it so that I had play money. I almost had to move in with my parents last year. Business was slow, I was making the documentary, and I put every penny of my savings into the film. But, at the last second of 2013, I got a pretty well-paying client, and I slowly got myself back on my feet.

It worked out really well! I was catching up on bills, I could go to dinner more than once a month with my friends, and I even had some money to buy some clothes. Nothing fancy, but it was still fun. My business exploded this summer! I ended up hiring Jada to work part-time for me, and she’s doing a great job. It was to the point that I was about to do something I hadn’t done in 14 years: go on a real vacation.

14 years. That’s a LONG time to work your ass off, but never get to take a vacation. Sure, there were years I made a shitload of money, but I was addicted to it. I wasn’t taking days off, so I could make more and more money. But, I crashed and burned. I was working way more than full-time, doing stand-up a few nights a week, doing my radio show, and managing a band or two. What a life! Uuuuuuuuuuuuuuntil you crash and burn, like I did.

Anyway, my dog got something in his eye a month ago, and there were three vet visits in that time. I had almost a thousand dollars saved up…and it’s gone. I’d been looking at different websites for plane tickets for a couple weeks, because I was ALMOST THERE! I was going on vacation!!!

254708_10200317954971035_601099849_n

But, the universe decided to make me take a step back. All I saved is gone, because Dexter needed it. I’m ok with it, because now he is on the mend and not in pain anymore. He’s doing great! And I’m thankful I had the means to take care of him.

Still, that trip to Costa Rica, to sit on the beach for a week with no computer, no hair dryer, no makeup, no distractions, is going to have to wait a couple more months. Whatever. My birthday’s in February, so it’ll fucking happen. I’ll MAKE IT HAPPEN.

 

2 Responses to “Life is awesome…and then it punches you in the face.”

  1. Sorry for you… seriously… but you’re a big girl, and you’ll recover. So very, very happy for Dexter – that he is all better now, and that he has you in his life. Miracles are made to happen when we have love in our lives, no matter what kind of love.


Leave a Reply

