Fabamy's Blog

Crazy life of a CenPho comedian & socialite

Week 1: Down six pounds, and over an inch off my waist February 10, 2014

Filed under: Weight loss — fabamy @ 4:56 pm

So, my chiropractor (Dr. Diane at Paragon) also does nutrition counseling. She mapped out what I should be eating every day, and I have followed it 99%. The only thing I did that isn’t on there is my morning coffee, which I drink black. Since I don’t add anything to it, she said she’d let it slide, since I have done so well this past week.

So, I lost six pounds in the past week, and I am actually eating more often than I was before. I also lost 1.25 inches off my waist. After the body composition test today, about half was water and half fat. Since I cut out everything process and am not eating anything with wheat gluten in it, I knew I would drop at least 5 pounds in the first week.

I also lost over an inch on my stomach, which I could have predicted after wearing jeans this past weekend. They fit a lot better!

So, I am eating lots of veggies, lots of eggs, fruit, nuts, meat, and some cheese. I still use olive oil to cook and make my own salad dressing. Each serving is about 1 tsp, and I haven’t had to use more than that.

Today’s breakfast is my favorite so far, so I’m going to give you the recipe. In fact, it was pretty divine.

Image

Ingredients:

1 Portobello mushroom
1/4 each green and yellow pepper, sliced into strips
1/4 yellow onion
1 tbsp freshly grated parmesan cheese
2 eggs
turmeric, salt, and pepper

First, slice the portobello mushroom. I kept the slices a little thick. Add 1 tsp olive oil to a non-stick pan. Yes, I still use a little oil in a non-stick pan. Add the onions and peppers, and saute over medium heat. After 5 minutes, add the mushroom slices. Sprinkle vegetables with salt & pepper, and a dash of turmeric. I’ve read a lot about the health benefits of turmeric, so I put it on just about everything. When all vegetables are crisp-tender, remove to a salad-sized plate. Crack both eggs into the pan, and cook until the whites are done. I usually flip them over the last 30 seconds to make sure the whites are cooked. I love a runny yolk, but I like cooked whites. While they are cooking, grate up the parmesan cheese. I ALWAYS have a block on-hand, and never buy it already grated. For starters, it’s not fresh, but it also loses a lot of flavor. When it’s fresh, you will use less because you can actually taste it.

When the eggs are done to your liking, slide them on top of the veggies. Top with the parmesan. Poke yolks and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

