Fabamy's Blog

Crazy life of a CenPho comedian & socialite

Sometimes I vent & don’t expect it to hurt people’s feelings. Ugh. March 9, 2013

Filed under: The kidney donation — fabamy @ 1:17 pm

I had the pleasure of being a guest at a nephrology conference last week. I had no idea what to expect going in there, but I wanted to make connections with people and, of course, share my story. My heart sank a little when I saw the itinerary of talks, as I didn’t see anything given BY a donor. As everyone knows, live organ donation has become my life’s cause. I didn’t choose this path. It chose me.

I tweeted my frustration at the lack of the point-of-view from a donor. I often use Twitter to do so, and my words were taken out of context. That breaks my heart, because I wasn’t targeting any one person or organization. I remember crying as I left the conference, because I had just left a presentation that included people on dialysis speaking about their illness.

Kidney disease is an epidemic. I don’t think enough people talk about it, which is why I do. I’ll die before I ever stop telling people our story, about my donation, and the problem right now in the USA. (I just don’t know much about other countries and kidney disease.)

There are almost 100,000 people on a list, waiting for an organ. Roughly 94,000 of those sick people are waiting for a kidney. 94%. It truly breaks my heart.

I just wish everyone could work together to spread the gospel.

I just wish I hadn’t seen those sick people, but it gave me more fuel on my journey.

I just wish my words didn’t offend anyone.

I just wish my tweet hadn’t been taken out of context, and that I explained myself better.

I just wish that 94,000 people will come forward to donate.

Is that so much to ask?

 

Leave a Reply

