Fabamy's Blog

Crazy life of a CenPho comedian & socialite

Helping new donors December 12, 2012

Filed under: The kidney donation — fabamy @ 10:01 pm

While I was testing to donate, I had a lot of personal “interviews” with many people on my team at Mayo. You get a Social Worker, and Advocate, a psych test (hahahaha yes, I passed! ), and all of the medical people. Those people kept me very well-informed, but they were lacking one thing: None of them were donors. Though they’d witnessed donations and performed them, they’d never donated. So, they don’t know what things *feel* like.

I don’t remember how long it was after my donation that I found the Living Donors group on Facebook. My donation had pretty much taken over my life, but I never had anyone who KNEW how I felt to talk to. It would have been nice to have such a network for myself.

So, what I’m getting at is that if all goes well with this film, I will make some money. I’d like to be able to start a foundation that mentors donors, before and after surgery. I love giving people information and sharing a very intimate experience with someone who’s been through it.

I talked to a woman tonight who donated on November 9th. I left a voicemail with another  woman after getting a message on the Facebook page. Her husband needs a kidney.

This has to continue to be talked about.

 

Leave a Reply

