Fabamy's Blog

Crazy life of a CenPho comedian & socialite

Life is weird. October 17, 2012

Filed under: My crazy life,Social Media — fabamy @ 8:23 pm

Seriously. Life is fucking WEIRD. Today was one of the roller coaster days. I felt pretty low this morning, because business has been slow and I’m realizing I may need to get a job. I’ve applied for a few and had a phone interview today that went really well.

I met up with a really awesome woman today who messaged me on LinkedIn a couple weeks ago. I’m all about meeting new people and learning about what they do. Networking can be a powerful thing in this world! We had a great time and it eased my mind about the earlier part of the day.

I got home and had a phone interview. I do Social Media. A lot of companies want to be in the ring, so to speak, in SM Land. The thing is, though, they don’t understand it very well. I’m great at teaching it and putting things into laymen’s terms so they can get a better grasp on things. This poor woman! They wanted someone who could keep up with their website, run ads, do graphic design work AND handle all of their Social Media.

I’m not saying that there aren’t people out there who *could* be talented in all those areas, but they are rare. The thing is, Social Media has NOTHING to do with web design/development. It has NOTHING to do with graphic design. I let her know this, too. I told her that what she needed were three different people. I even asked if they could pay three salaries. I talked to her for an hour about the differences and told her that they didn’t need a full-time Social Media person to sit in the office from 9-5. Social Media is NOT a 9-5 job.

What if you were a restaurant, and someone posted on your Facebook page at 6 on a Wednesday night. “What time are you open until?” The Social Media person clocked out at 5pm. Who’s going to respond to that post? We are an instant gratification society. Those people want to eat there TONIGHT, yet there’s nobody there to answer their question. I explained this to her and I could almost see the light bulb go off above her head. She was starting to get it.

I told her exactly what they needed: Contractors. If they wanted the BEST results and expertise in all areas, they would have to contract out the work, instead of thinking they could get one person to handle it all. It’s just not possible. Design geeks aren’t usually social people. I can’t do Photoshop for shit. I email pictures to my friends to touch up for me. They email it back. They are good at what they do, I am good at what I do.

I wasn’t going to pretend to be able to do it all, just to get the job. I don’t like letting people down.

I can’t build your website, but gosh golly geewillikers, I can rock your Facebook page and Twitter account!

I’m a bit down this evening, though. I’m really missing someone and I’m just plain sad. There’s nothing really to say about that.

 

 

Pretty much how I feel today.

 

5 Responses to “Life is weird.”

  1. Well said, Amy! Companies know they should be doing social media, but have no clue what it entails. Good luck on your search for clients and/or a job! šŸ™‚

  2. Puneet Says:

    Chin up, soldier!


Leave a Reply

