Fabamy's Blog

Crazy life of a CenPho comedian & socialite

Life gave me a lemon…and I made an entire lemon meringue pie! April 6, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — fabamy @ 9:12 pm

Two weeks ago, I had a meeting at work with my boss, and was informed of a huge downsizing in the company. I would be laid off as of April 13th. I wasn’t as shocked as I thought I would be, but a light went off in my head. It was time for me to use my talents and knowledge to start my own business.

Having this job for the past year has taught me SO MUCH! I’ve had amazing support from everyone in the company. They hired me immediately after I lost my job while in a sales position. I had been testing to donate my kidney and didn’t hit my sales goal. I was approached within hours of losing my job and took it within a few days.

Working for SmartWrap gave me a lot of freedom, too. Everyone trusted I knew what I was doing, and they gave me the reins. I’ve been working from home for a year. My job as a Social Media Manager is not a 9-5 job. I do not take weekends off. And I love it. I’m always learning, and willing to learn. I’ve also gained a great reputation in the field of Social Media and made some awesome connections.

I’m really sad that I won’t be working with such great people, though I’ll still be doing some consulting for them once in awhile. They’re even giving me a key, so I can hold my workshops there during off-hours. The President is already telling other business owners about my skills.

I started my own business two weeks ago, doing Social Media for other businesses. This week, I got 3 new clients. I have not advertised, but have let everyone I know. Everyone has been a referral. This makes me incredibly grateful for my friends and the professional business people I know. I’m working 16-hour days right now, at least 4 days a week. I am barely taking any days off, but, again, I love it! I’m building my own little empire. My head is spinning with ideas and I’ve got a ton of support from my friends and family.

The Fab Social. (https://www.facebook.com/TheFabSocial) That’s the name of my company. I had 2 women who I met through tweeting for SmartWrap work on a logo. They made backgrounds for my Twitter profile. They’re promoted my page and cheered me on. This group of women didn’t exist in my life until a year ago. We live all over the country, but we’re together all day in a group on Facebook. We call it our “break room,” since most of us work from home. We vent, share ideas, and do Google Hangouts. We refer each other to potential clients. When one of us had a baby earlier this year, some of the girls sent gifts to the baby. These are women that haven’t met in person. But we’re co-workers.

I’m excited, and a little scared. I know I’m doing what I’m supposed to be doing. At 41, it’s time for me to be my own boss. It’s time for me to spread my passion to others around the world. It’s time for me to teach anyone and everyone all about Social Media.

If you ever get a chance to work at SmartWrap, SmartShield or Inyati Bedliners, take that job! You’ll never work for or with more wonderful people!

 

6 Responses to “Life gave me a lemon…and I made an entire lemon meringue pie!”

  1. You’re right. We are coworkers. I’ll refer as many people as I can your way.
    You have a gift for social media.
    Never forget that.

    Love,
    @gidgey aka @YouTooCanBeGuru

  2. fabamy Says:

    Thanks, Bridget! Without you ladies, I don’t know what I would have done this past year!

  3. Nice job, Amy. It is always amazing to me what friendships/business relationships can evolve from Twitter and/or Facebook…it’s opened up a whole new “family” of like-minded people to me! Your enthusiasm, energy and talent is BOUND to make this new venture of yours a success…and rest assured, I won’t stop throwing your name out there to potential clients! 🙂

  4. Nice job, Amy! It always amazes me when I think about the whole new realm of friendships/business relationships I’ve evolved through Twitter and/or Facebook…it’s like having a whole new “family” of like-minded people! With your enthusiasm, energy and talent, your new venture is bound to be a success…and rest assured, I won’t stop throwing your name out there to potential clients! 🙂

  5. P.S. Now I want to eat lemon meringue pie. And it’s only 9 a.m. Thanks. 😛


Leave a Reply

