Fabamy's Blog

Crazy life of a CenPho comedian & socialite

I’m a match to donate my kidney! Now what? February 6, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — fabamy @ 5:22 pm

I finally got the news Friday afternoon that my blood was a match to the recipient to donate my kidney.  I started crying at my desk instantly.  I’d been waiting for over a week to find out and I was just so relieved.

Now, the real testing starts.  I’ve got to get a CAT scan on my kidneys, a mammogram, a pap smear and a few others.  I’ve enver had a CAT scan.  Isn’t that the one where you have to lie still for awhile?  How the Hell am I gonna do that?????

I’ve written a few friends who have media connections.  I met a girl at a gig last week who is young, about 20 (I think) and needs a lung transplant.  She’s on state aid and the governor cut benefits so that they don’t cover a transplant.  What???????  Does that even make sense?  It doesn’t.  I am doing a benefit for her next month to try to help raise funds to get her better.  She’s at 25% of her lung capacity and on a wait list that is years long.  It’s just not fair.

My friend Kirti’s mom is getting my kidney.  Luckily, they have full health insurance.  I think, though, that people need to be aware of how easy it is to be a live donor.  Yeah, the tests will be somewhat time-consuming, but that’s about it.  The recovery time in the hospital is two days.  Medicine has changed a LOT over the past two decades and with lasers, things heal much more quickly.  I’m not worried at all.  I’m anxious for it to finally happen, but I know it will take time and I just have to be patient.

 

 

3 Responses to “I’m a match to donate my kidney! Now what?”

  1. frumpy mcfrumpington Says:

    Have you ever had major surgery? Yeah you’ll only be in a hospital for a few days but you will spend weeks recovering from the incision. I think its great you are doing it but you aren’t going to be up bopping around when you go home from the hospital.

    • fabamy Says:

      Actually, joellen, I did a LOT of research before I told the family I was considering it. I’ll be sleeping a LOT for about a week after the surgery. But, I also have to be up walking around as early as the same night of surgery.

      Kelly – No, you are. ;}

  2. kelli Says:

    you are a rockstar. 🙂


Leave a Reply

