Fabamy's Blog

Crazy life of a CenPho comedian & socialite

The Detox. Day 1. January 11, 2011

Filed under: The good life — fabamy @ 2:37 am

So, every year, a few times a year, I do a detox.  I always do it right at the beginning of the year, since I eat a lot of shit during the holiday season.

It’s not hard, but it does take discipline.

The first step is to soften one stick of BUTTER, not margarine.  When it’s soft, stir in 1/2 cup of olive oil.  This you can use a tsp of a time during the week to flavor your food.  FAT IS NOT BAD FOR YOU.  There is good fat and bad.  Since this is the only fat during the entire detox, it’s OK to eat.  Really.

Breakfast – Quinoa.  I cook up a big batch of it so I can just take it as I eat it.  You need to first wash it before using it.  I put a cup of dry quinoa in a bowl of water and kind of use my hands to rub the grains together to get off the outer husk & dust.  Just takes a minute.  Drain.  Cook it like rice.  1 cup quinoa to 2 cups of water and simmer for 20 – 30 minutes.  Don’t add anything to it.  When I have it for breakfast, I sprinkle on some cinnamon.

Lunch and dinner are the same thing.  Steamed greens & veggies.  I like to use beets (and the greense), sweet potatoes, potatoes, broccoli, spinach, whatever other greens you like.  Start by peeling and chopping the potatoes and beets into cubes.  Since they take longest to steam, put them in about 15 minutes before everything else.  The key is to cook everything, but not cook it until the vitamins are gone.  Add broccoli.  Then, when everything is just about soft, add the greens.  SAVE THE LIQUID.  I drink about a cup of the liquid for my mid-morning break.  Add some salt & pepper and a little of the butter/oil mixture.

Around 3pm, I have a serving of protein.  It can be a piece of chicken (ONE SERVING SIZE!!!), salmon or a hard-boiled egg.

Throughout the day I drink a shitload of water and green tea.  Don’t add sugar.

So, the detox is to get off sugar and eat pure foods for a few days.  I will do it until Saturday most likely.  Depends on how long the food lasts.

Any herbs & spices are ok.  Just remember: NO SUGAR.  You’ll be fine.

Today was the first day and even though I am getting over the flu, I felt pretty energetic.  Sometimes, into the 3rd day, you might break out a little, but this is just from the toxins leaving your body.  Deal with it.  Everyone gets zits. :}

If you do try the detox, please leave comments!  It’s a great motivator.

 

 

 

7 Responses to “The Detox. Day 1.”

  1. Tina Says:

    i may try this, but i might start next week … OCD and all i need to start on a monday

  2. Pooja Says:

    Thanks for sharing! I’ve been wanting to do a detox for a while, but could never find a “simple” one. This one is so easy and straightforward. I love it! I’m definitely going to do this!

  3. fabamy Says:

    You can do all your cooking for it on Sunday then!

  4. JenW Says:

    Your detox is Dr. Jen approved! Great job Amy.

  5. catty Says:

    You’re good for doing the detox! I sometimes think about it… but then I fail at even completing my thought.


Leave a Reply

