Fabamy's Blog

Crazy life of a CenPho comedian & socialite

I used to hate coffee…no, really, I did. December 6, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — fabamy @ 10:59 pm

Ever since I was a kid, I hated everything about coffee.  The way it smelled, the stains it left on the sides of the mugs and I would never in a million years take a taste of it.

My friends are coffee FREAKS and could never understand why I couldn’t drink it.  I realized the other day why I hated it so much my whole life:  church.  My parents used to drag us downstairs after church to hang with the rest of the “Christian cranks” and we’d have to stay until they were done gabbing.  I saw someone pour clotted, rancid creamer into their coffee once and I think that’s what the final straw was.  I saw the white lumps and almost puked right then and there.  Never mind the fact that I hated church to begin with, now I got to see people downing coffee, breathing their coffee breath all over the place, and talking about the lord.  Blah.  Blah.  Blah.

When I did my study abroad in Costa Rica, people went apeshit over the coffee there.  I sooooooooo wanted to be part of the cool, coffee-drinkers club.  Blech.  It made me gag to think about it.

I’d always been able to drink what I call “bitch drinks,” meaning the fluffy-fru-fru coffee drinks at Starbucks.  I was starting to be able to tolerate a light flavoring of coffee, as long as it was muted with sugar and whipped cream.

I started going to the cafe at my new job a couple months ago, just to get the jolt of caffeine to get me through our intense training.  I started getting hooked…

Well, a few weeks ago, some friends gave me an aero-press.  I was going to give it a shot and be a coffee drinker.  Damn it, I was going to grow up.

So, I started with some ground Seattle’s Best (I really wanted to get to Copper Star and buy theirs, but I never got there.  Next time!) and went to town.  I.  Am.  In.  Love.

I call it “caffeine clarity” as I down two cups before work.  I like that I can make 1 – 4 cups at a time.  I love the sound of the steam as I press it through.  It tastes WAY better than any coffee make could do.  I wash my mug right away so it doesn’t get stained.  No drip marks on the outside.  Oh, and I refuse to use any creamer.  I add a dash of sugar, just a little bit, to cut the bitter edge.

I’m hooked.  I drank 4 cups Saturday and that didn’t go over well, as I became a bit stabby and wanted to murder my neighbor, but at least I was finally drinking it.

I feel like I am becoming one of the cool kids.  Now, if I could just tell the difference between the good stuff and the ghetto stuff.

 

One Response to “I used to hate coffee…no, really, I did.”

  1. MoniQue Says:

    YAY! Welcome to the coffee club! I haven’t quite graduated to the “I like my coffee black,” status, but maybe one day! See! You’re stronger than me! 🙂


Leave a Reply

