Fabamy's Blog

Crazy life of a CenPho comedian & socialite

CenPho sacrifices August 19, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — fabamy @ 4:43 am

So, I’ve been showing a couple of vacant apartments in my building the past couple of weeks.  I can’t say how awesome this place is, because there are no words for it.

CenPho is a community.  The entire area.  You can’t go anywhere without bumping into someone you know.  Between the restaurants, First Friday, different community events like the Melrose Street Fair, you always run into someone.  I think sites like Yelp, Facebook and Twitter have really brought us all together.

So, as I give people directions to my building, I always get asked “What’s the complex called?”  Huh?  There’s no name.  My building in Melrose had no name.  My friends live in houses in cute little complexes with no name.  There’s no stupid gate to have to get through with a code.  Most places don’t have laundry in the apartments, let alone on-site.  So, why do we live here?

We live here because there’s FLAVOR.  No house looks like the one next to it, or even one down the block.  Chain restaurants and stores aren’t the norm, but rather mom-and-pop shops with owners who know your name.  Yeah, I have to cart my laundry downstairs to the laundry room and put quarters in the machine.  My friends have to go to the laundromat.

Ever building here has it’s own look, flavor, genre.  Just like my friends. :}

 

Leave a Reply

